Second edition of State level Media Awards for Punjab announced in Chandigarh

Featured Video Play Icon

JF Media Awards an attempt to honor the silent warriors of pen and ideas

Winners will get Trophies along with cash awards 21, 31 & 51 thousand

The Joshi Foundation has once again announced to honour the shining contributors of the fourth estate of the society in the 2nd Joshi Foundation Media Awards Punjab.

In a way to honour excellence in the field of journalism at the state, district and local level, the Joshi Foundation had earlier also awarded the journalists raising the voice of truth fearlessly.

These Awards are aimed at felicitating the talented professionals who through their work and creativity have defended the highest standards of journalism in Punjab in the year 2019, said Vineet Joshi, Chairman Joshi Foundation.

The sixteen categories for which the awards will be given along with a cash award of twenty one thousand each include Outstanding Reporting in affairs related to Governance, Civil matters and Polity; Best Investigative Reporting; Outstanding Reporting in the field of Education; Outstanding Report in Health Care; Best Sports Coverage; Outstanding Reporting on Agrarian issues; Outstanding Reporting on raising Environmental issues; Outstanding Reporting on Drugs issue; Outstanding Reporting on Gender  Sensitization, Best Positive News; Outstanding Contribution in Journalism Education; Best photo journalist , Best video journalist; Best evening Daily. Rupees Thirty One Thousand is the cash award for  Journalist of the year and rupees fifty one thousand is the cash award for  Life Time Contribution to Journalism.

The last date for the submission of entries is March 31st.  The award ceremony will be held on the last Sunday of the April or first Sunday of May.

For Eligibility, methodology for inviting nominations, selection procedure and rules etc., one can visit Besides, the Joshi Foundation can also be contacted on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter

The announcement was made in the presence of Jury Members including Sardar SS Tej (Former Editor, Punjabi Tribune), Sh Naresh Kaushal (Former Editor, Dainik Tribune),Prof BK Kuthiala (Former Vice Chancellor, Makhanlal Chaturvedi National University of Journalism & Communication, Bhopal), Sh Ashok Malik (National President, National Union of Journalists India), Senior Journalist Ms Nirupama Dutt, Sh BS Rawat (President Chandigarh Press Club), Sh. Baljit Balli (Editor in Chief, babushahi) and Swadesh Talwar, former Chief Photo Editor, Indian Express

The other members of the jury are Vipin Pubby, former senior resident editor, Indian Express ; Prabhjot Singh, Editor, PTC News;  Ritesh Lakhi Former Editor of various news channels; Dr. Manmohan, Sahitya Academy Award winner; Khushal Lali, Senior Broadcaster, BBC Punjabi; Karam Singh, former Chief Photographer, The Tribune and Sh Rajnish Katyal (Former Chief Photographer, Hindustan times).

Sh Avinash Chopra Jt Editor Hind Samachar Group and Sh Sheetal Vij Chief Editor Dainik Savera have kindly consented to be the Patrons.

Speaking the occasion SS Tej said, “ The resilient spirit of journalistic values should be praised through such platforms. The Joshi Foundation has done a appreciable job and I hope it will encourage the youth to join the fraternity to reveal the truth in front of the society.”

Stressing on the need for credibility of media in present times, Ajay Shukla, BS Rawat and Baljit Balli shared, “Honoring the drive, the zeal, the passion, the curiosity, the resilience, the determination and the grit that the journalists of the region personify through their daily work is a matter of deep pride and truly great responsibility.”

Saurabh Joshi said, “The Joshi Foundation aims to promote the good coming of the society in every manner. The media is these days plays an important role in changing the perception of the society and by honoring the hard work behind the ideas is our moral duty.”




About The Author

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.